How to Shoot 65

Ok y’all want something to chew on for a while here we go. First of all I want to properly introduce myself. My name is Alec and I was a Golf Pro from 1995 to 2003. I played at Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, CA from 1993-95. I played the Euro Challenge Tour in 1996, Hooters in 1997 & '98 and too many different places to list from then until 2003. I enrolled in grad school at UCLA at the end of '03 and very rarely touched a club until the latter part of '09 when I accidentally found the ABS Site and got the itch to play again. I put my game back together about halfway and was planning on playing some small events last summer when a once in a lifetime opportunity came up for me to go work in Peru for 6 mo. I’m just now recovering from a nasty bout of tonsillitis I got while I was down there, I hope to be fully recovered in a few weeks.

As soon as I’m well I’m going to start a program and keep track of it here as I play my way back into shape. Since I stumbled across ABS I’ve been blown away that I’m not the only person who thinks that the game of golf has changed big time for the worse. Its dumb now and bears little resemblance to the game that initially attracted me about 25 yrs ago. In fact if I was 13 right now I don’t think I’d take up the game at all. I’d play 3rd base and catch instead. But I’m not 13, I’m 37 and I still love golf, but I love the game of golf I grew up with and that’s what I’m gonna play exclusively. I know it and I’m good at it. What that leaves me with though is since the game has changed I’m left competing against myself which I think is the most fulfilling way I could.