Argument for using blade irons

Justin emailed me a link to this guys site…some good stuff here

This from Barry O Brien thread…

solu.net/barry/sets.htm

Forged Blade Irons

This is a letter from a recent convert from cavity backs to forged blades:

"In 1995, I followed the herd and purchased a new set of MacGregor VIP O/S irons. After playing these clubs, I felt that my swing did not improve. In the last six months, I purchased from Barry a set of 1964 MacGregor CF 4000 M2 forged blade irons, had them rechromed and regripped and wow… what a difference! Comparing and contrasting my forged blades to the cast oversized irons is surprisingly easy, considering that I am not an expert on swing mechanics or club design.

PLAYABILITY: FORGED V. CAST

Upon setup, the blade is compact and looks like a golf club, not a small shovel. The O/S iron gives a false sense of security because it appears that all you have to do is swing and you will hit the ball solidly because of the huge mass behind the ball. When striking the ball with the forged blade, I feel I can groove my swing because when I strike the ball correctly, I feel the “pinch” between the ball, club and the turf. The ball flight is very consistent, low and boring. On a mishit, the ball is very inconsistent, so as a teaching mechanism, the forged blade is far superior to a cast cavity back O/S iron. Since golf is a game of feel, a blade will, if you are attentive and care to improve, allow you to pinpoint what a better swing feels like. The O/S iron is easier to hit, but that is regarding all swings, bad and good. They feel the same. Bad swings feel ok, but the result is bad. Good swings feel ok. The result is that grooving a precise swing is much more difficult.