1973 Haig Ultra shafts

This is my first post though have come across ABS many times with great discussions and info.

Was wondering if anyone knows anything about reshafting these irons?
Ive read that some Walter Hagen models had an unusual tip size, taper but smaller than standard.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks

I have a set of 73 haig ultras and the shafts are a nightmare to get out. I have read Maltby say they were threaded. At least they aren’t pinned. I haven’t successfully removed any yet. I wasn’t planning on reshafting them, but the 7 iron shaft broke off in the hosel, so I need to redo all of them.

jrich99,

I removed some shafts fom Macgregor VIP Limited split soles a while back and they seamed to have a kind of thread down the hosel. Not sure of this is the same thing.

It took a lot of heating before I could twist them out (though Im no expert). Wouldnt like to heat the Haig Ultra’s for too long in case the plugs melted.

Hopefully someone else will have some more experience of this and the shaft tip size.

I’ve got a set of 1970 Haig Ultras and I tried to reshaft them (they were 1 inch shorter than “standard”) so I thought, no big deal, just replace them with newer stiffer shafts and all will be good. I took the 7 Iron first and had a hell of a time getting the shaft out. Add in the rubber insert that makes it look like a borethru and it really is a pain. After heating and heating I couldn’t get it off. I just burned alot of the rubber insert. I ended up cutting the shaft down to about 3 inches from the hosel, clamping it to a vise while crushing the shaft flat and then twisting and pulling until I finally got it off.