Vintage Shafts

Hey all…first post…hopefully in the right forum…I have a set of Hogan Apex PC’s with Apex 4 shafts…the trajectory is higher than I thought it was going to be…that’s not saying anything as I am new to vintage gear…I was hoping someone could tell me more about the shafts - are they stiff? difference of the Apex 3? etc…what’s the best shaft for a lower, boring flight?..also, would like to thank everyone here at ABS - I truly feel that I’ve finally found the proper discipline to help me figure out this great game…cheers…Scot

The Hogan Apex shafts were made by Precision shaft company, not True Temper. A very good shaft. The 4 shaft was more the standard stiff shaft most good players would play if they had Hogan irons. The 3 shaft is a regular or loose shaft. The best shaft they made was the 5 shaft or X shaft. I say that from more of a hitters perspective. If your goal is to hold shaft flex to the ball, then a stiffer shaft is desirable in the event you don’t hold shaft flex, you have the shaft itself to help stabilize the clubhead through impact, not kick forward and do strange things to the golf ball… and a stiff shaft also aids in stabilizing off centered hits.

My personal preference are the vintage thicker walled shafts. They are heavier and give better feel and feedback from the shot. With irons, I certainly am not interested in a shaft that is designed only to hit the ball longer… graphite etc… I want consistency, feel, reliability, accuracy. I don’t want a jumpy shaft that sends the ball over greens on occasion. I am not interested in hitting a wedge 150 yards.