Taking on the club manufacturers...

This is a foolish idea but I would value opinions please. I am not a business man so feel free to shout crazy…

How much would it cost to build a new set of forged muscleback irons? Independent of the big company stuff…

What are the stages in doing this? I’m guessing at …

1. Design

CAD designed concept - Resin model - master - Tooling - prototypes

2. Production

Forging -grinding - chrome - decorative finishing

3. Distribution

So , from design computer to factory to doorstep…

1. Design

A) I imagine that you can spend unlimited amounts at each and every step… but keeping it simple… limit design to copying an old classic forged model… pick your favourite 1950/60s MacGregor or Hogan or Wilson… maybe use the computer to updtae the COG location a little …I am assuming that the designs are no longer under patent?? I am not a lawyer either so forgive me if I am wrong on that… but there must be a time limit to the patent on design - no??

I can’t believe that it is too costly to reverse-engineer a design from these classics - 3 D scan …convert to CAD model… 3D print a resin model…

B) Then use CAD program to CNC mill your forging dyes… this seems to be the most expensive bit in development… in 2009 Tom Wishon quoted:

“The other thing that killed forging houses in the US was the cost of US made forging dies. US toolmakers asked more than 2x the money to make the dies vs what the off shore toolmakers would charge. For even the big companies, who are all faced with the reality that their forged irons are not going to sell nearly as many units as their cast models, looking at $100+K vs $45K for your tooling and then 25% lower per piece costs made that a fairly easy decision - especially when the off shore forging houses developed the production quality too.”

2. Production