Seeing it live!! played w JE (Lag)

Hello Advanced Ball Strikers:

I had the opportunity to spend 4 hours with John this past Friday. We played 18 holes at a pretty solid course near John’s home.
we have a mutual friend and a game was arranged and the three of us enjoyed a great afternoon. i am a student of the game and was very interested in listening and seeing what John was teaching as well as actually see him play a serious round of golf.
Let me tell you, he played great, really great. after opening with a three putt bogey, John made 6 birdies against one bogey over the final seventeen to finish with a solid 68. had a legitimate chance at 65 and if the greens were top grade…much lower…

John hits the ball super long and is very sharp with his irons and his putter. my four hours was a walking lesson. he didn’t tell me anything, he just answered my questions and explained his beliefs. I liked what he had to say. he’s a passionate guy and I look forward to working with him going forward. Everyone can learn from what John is teaching.

best to all
jeschi :smiley:

jeschi,

Thanks for stopping by here and enjoyed the game as well. It was fun to watch you strike some of those nice shots you hit also. You’re definitely a hitter, so you are in fertile ground around these parts. It was amazing the 16 degree difference between your modern driver and my old 48 degree lie angle Penna. Pretty shocking to set them side by side. Loved the flushed strike you made off #11 with my persimmon. Took you about two practice swings to drop 16 degrees! Lot of good folks around here… lots of serious players who more and more are gravitating to setting up their gear so they can first and foremost, hit the ball straighter.

The forum here would be thrilled to take a peak at your own vintage club collection. Sounds like you have some beauties.
We have lots of galleries in the equipment forum here, and some die in the wool persimmon purists who have found a safe haven here.