Reshafting Question

This may be a stupid question but I have never done this before. I just bought a set of pulled TT DG X100 shafts off of ebay that are +1/2" longer than standard. I would like to put these into a set of Macgregor MT’s that I have and my question is this. Because these are taper tips I know that I should cut the shafts down to size from the butt end but given that these shafts have brand new unused grips and to save on a lot of cutting time is it possible to get around cutting the shafts by putting for example the new 4 or 5 iron shaft into my MT 3 iron head, the 5 or 6 iron shaft in the MT 4 head etc. Is there something that I may be missing. I will then have to buy 1 or 2 extra shafts for the 9 iron + PW (which shafts I would have used in my 7 and 8 irons). Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

A really good cobalt drill bit to drill out the necks so you can get the shafts in. I like the idea of tipping them from the bottom, but more than likely you will have to bore out the necks. If you can find a machine shop to do the job, gladly pay them $5 a club to do the work. They might just do it for that the first time… next time they will charge you $10 a head!

Thanks Lag, I assume from your answer that I should cut the tips rather than the butt end. What is the drill bit size required to re bore the hosels .

3/8

Thanks Lag. How much can I take off the tip without making the shaft too stiff. Would it be OK to take an inch off. I’m thinking of making the shafts a little shorter than modern standard more in line with older clubs

1 inch would be fine pvalue. However before you go and tip trim them exactly 1 inch please measure hosel bore depth for each iron.(i.e. how far can the shaft go inside the hosel). It has been my experience that with older (hogan) clubs, these may be different throughout the set.
Good luck!