Questions from the Web

Been getting a lot of emails from the recent exposure to mainstream golfers online.
Thought I would post and answer some of the more interesting ones… here on this new thread.

1 Like

Hi John,

I am a golf professional in Nashville, TN. Enjoyed watching your video a few minutes ago with Be Better Golf. Just curious if your own irons are 6 degrees flat throughout the set, or if there is any deviation based on the club. I am most interested in the sand wedges, as I would assume that they might need to be “not as flat” for shots around the green. I wonder what your experience has shown you regarding the wedges?

Thank you for taking the time to respond… it is greatly appreciated!

Jeff Johnson

Good question Jeff…

I set up my pitching wedge and gap wedge 6 degrees flat…
**However… I set up my SW 3 degrees upright! **
I do this so that when I open up the clubface to play a sand shot… the shaft drops down
to 6 degrees flat!

When we open the face we have to lower our hands… so I just want the club to be using the bounce,
but then have my hands right down were I play all my shots!

6 degrees flat!

1 Like

John,

I assume that 6 degrees is what works for you based on your stature and swing shape. I’m 5’10" and I absolutely see the benefits of flatter lies but how do I determine how flat is flat enough?

Is it just trial and error or a dynamic lie test with a lie board or other method?

Thanks!

I wasn’t sure I could play 6 degrees flat until I could. I played with the concept and realized that I simply had to swing flatter. I could bend my knees a bit more to lower my center of gravity, and I could hold deeper wrist cock through the strike. Not hard to do at all once I practiced that a bit and got used to it.