Nick Faldo Quotes

On today’s broadcast from Torrey Pines:

‘Real golf clubs, real golf balls, real spikes… When they have those again I’ll be back…’

We’ll see Nick then…at the next TRGA event… :sunglasses:

I reckon I saw the end of Faldo’s career and the end and dawning of generations. During the practice round for the '95 or '96 Masters- it’s killing me that I can’t remember but I’m pretty sure it was '96. I went 2 years in a row- Augusta State had a college tournament that they coordinated to end on the sunday so they could give the teams tickets to the monday practice round- sweet deal. Anyway, he was playing with a relatively unknown Tiger Woods, and the specific moment came when they were playing the 15th and they both hit dirvers off the tee. I followed them down the hill and it was quiet enough on a monday to see things pretty clearly- Faldo was coming towards the end of his career, and who was this Tiger Woods guy anyway? I studied Faldo’s demeanor and facial expressions as he watched Tiger walk 100 yards passed him to his ball. Faldo was my hero, I’d studied his every move for 7 years up to that point, I felt like I knew him. Looking at him take his headcover off his 3w and try to figure out a way to make it get to the green, while Tiger, who eventually hit 9i to the green, stood stretching on the downslope past the trees, was as sad as it was amazing. Here was arguably still the best golfer in the world getting torn to shreds in a moment by a young kid, the past being destroyed by the future, and no cameras were there to see. I was there, and it happened. They were both using small metal headed drivers with steel shafts, essentially the same clubs- Faldo’s was a T-Zoid, Tiger’s was one of those 1st generation brown coloured tour preferred heads- I had one, they were sweet. I felt then and I still feel now, that I got to witness the generations overlapping and overpowering eachother. Faldo smashed his 3w and it hit and ran over the back. Tiger hit a crap