New Flat Hitter

Hi to all at ABS.

I just wanted to let you all know how great this place is. Since I stumbled in here for a look around about a month ago, I feel like I’ve spent half my life here - my wife keeps asking me why I spend so much time on “that orange web site”.

I started playing golf in 1999 at the age of 31. In 2005 I got serious, put in a lot of work on my short game and got my handicap to 4. While it was nice to sometimes shoot a couple over par when hitting 5 or 6 greens in reg, I had a nagging feeling that there was something better out there - and now I feel like I’ve found it here - the concept of controlling what you’re doing tee to green. I’m not real long (a real good drive would be about 250m), but given how much better my short game was than my long game, I would invariably just try to get it as far as possible up the fairway, then somewhere near the green and see what I could do with my short game. When the chips went close and/or the putter was working, life was ok. When they weren’t, I would wonder if there was something else I should be doing. Pretty dumb golf really.

Over the years I got lessons from 4 or 5 different pros and pleny of advice from other players, but all I ever heard was “backswing too flat”, “takeaway too inside”, “off plane”, “not releasing (i.e. not rolling my wrists over)”, “Ben Hogan’s stuff will never work for you”, etc. One pro went into his library of tour players and selected Aaron Baddeley (pre stack and tilt when he was really spraying it everywhere) to use as a swing that would suit me and then drew lines all over the screen. I don’t want to knock Aaron as he’s made a little bit more money playing golf than I have, but I spent the rest of the lesson thinking the pro was trying to tell me something and maybe I should just practise my putting more!!