Importance of Hand-eye Co-ordination

Having a discussion with my brother yesterday, after a round of golf with his mate who seems totally incapable of hitting the ball… we had the following discussion

Aside from all the drills etcto develop muscle strength and correct movements here at ABS. How much do you think your own hand-eye Co-ordination impacts upon your golf swing? You can be on plane,hit from inside have all the correct movements, you can return the club face back square through impact, but how well can you return that club face to the ball on the sweet spot with regularity? especially on the course with up/downhill lies?

Im sure everyone here has been at the first tee-off and seen a mate swing a club like a frog in a blender and you’ve thought to yourself “no way on this earth will he be a scratch golfer” yet you see another who seens a total natural and hits it fine.

I used to be a Phys-Ed teacher and from my experience fundamental hand-eye co-ord skills are developed in early childhood. Its extremely difficult to develop
them as an adult and even late adolosence have difficulty I found, while you can make yourself alot better through practice its multiple times slower than children given the same practice time frame.

Its why most champion golfers started at rediculously young ages, there are exceptions im sure but not many I can find.

The low handicappers on this site, at what age did you start golf? Lag? twomasters?

So my quesiton is, what limitations does each person have in there ability to play golf which is influenced by the skills they did or did not develeop as a child?..

Eg can someone at age 40 who has almost no hand-eye skills ever be a scratch or single didgit handicapper?

I would say generally yes, but it depends in large measure on their own internal drive. You can’t force this game…you have to go get it. :slight_smile:

Good topic.