Hogan Directors?

Anyone have an opinion about Hogan Directors? Just found a set and was wonder what you folks thought about them.

–Geoff W.

I love the look of the '80 version. Not so much the older ones. Paveveda plays a set of the '80s and likes them from what I understand… perhaps he’ll weigh in.

I did recently get a set of 80’s Directors. I liked the clean look of the back of the blade. It’s my first set of blades and I’m a beginner, been playing less than a year.

I too didn’t care for the look of the 70’s style directors until I saw a photo the other day that made them look like they have a slight indentation from the weighting on the back and the sole that runs the length of the blade. Similar to those step-soles, but not as pronounced. The picture was a really nice one and I think it was in that Hogan WITB thread over at WRX.

I don’t have any experience with other Hogan’s (or any other blades for that matter) at this point, so I guess I can only comment on the ones I have. They are a 3-E matched set in great condition that I got off ebay, Vector 3 shafts, original Hogan grips (probably need replacing, but until they slip one-to-many times, I’m keeping them), and were all D2 or D2.5 swing weight. The Equalizer is D3. They were standard loft&lie, and I just had them bent 5* flat and had the lofts adjusted in descending 4* increments from 48* for the Equalizer.