Hitting A Golf Ball Off Lag's Deck

Today was a great day for many reasons. One was that I hit a 2-iron off of Lag’s deck.

As a new ABS student, I wanted to have a set of gear set to ABS specs. So, I jumped on the Hogan red line irons when Lag posted them on the ABS e-bay a couple of weeks ago. And since I live in the Bay Area, too, instead of shipping the clubs only a handful of miles, Lag invited me up to his house with the famous deck and beautiful canyon below.

Lag is just like the guy down the street. Except that he has a garage filled with awesome golf clubs. And he knows how to bend clubs. And he knows how to remove offset from an iron. And he knows how to talk golf because he has a wealth of knowledge that comes from a wealth of experience combined with a natural curiosity of what he loves.

And he knows how to teach.

After some conversation, we got down to my new red lines. Lag hadn’t quite finished putting the finishing touches on the blades, which turned out to be a treat. There was some bending to be done. OK, so you put an iron in a vice and you bend it to change the lie angle. But removing offset? That didn’t look the least bit straightforward.

“Have a look” he said before the de-offset operation.

“Looks like the shaft lines up with the leading edge” I guessed.

“Right. This club was made with a tiny bit of offset. I’ll change that.”

So Lag put the club back into the vice and started his wrestling match with the inanimate object. After a minute or so, he handed me back my new club that I feared would look mangled and warped.

“Wow. The shaft is lined up with the third groove. And it looks perfect!”

He just grinned. That’s what people do after they have done something that they have learned to do over a very long time and have perfected the technique. They just grin.

After more conversation, Lag said “grab your new 2-iron and let’s go out back.”