H & B Persimmons

I am fairly new to ABS…still in Mod 1 but I pulled out my 48’ Ben Hogan MacGregor a week ago and was absoluted delighted at how I hit it. It has a minor chip on the face, however, so I am sending it to Lag to get it in tip top condition again. In the meantime I need some persimmon to hit, and bought these for $50 on ebay. Hope I did okay. They look nice, but I never really liked powerbilt. Maybe these H & B’s will be fine.

Grady
H & B top.jpg

Hard to see from on picture but these might be laminates; nothing wrong in playability.

No they are definitely persimmons. I know H & Bs don’t have the value of old MacGregors, but was wondering if anyone had played them and had an opinion. It is always an adventure with a golf club. That 48 Hogan MacGregor is just magical. I also have a Mac Tourney Eye-o-Matic but it just never felt the same, even though the head is very similar.

Some of the H and B stuff is top shelf. I don’t care what anyone says, they are great persimmons… especially the older stuff from the 50’s.

First Flight also made top shelf persimmons… actually had Toney Penna designing the heads. I have one I am working on now.
Best looking head I have ever seen.

Those are definitely persimmon… look like a good set… only the grain is bit off… but good shape.

How would you describe the appearance of a club with really good grain?

The classic look is to have the eye right at the top of the club and the grain then coming straight across into the face or just arcing somewhat into the face. Some visual symmetry basically.

A little more grain coming straight into the face…
I know Bradley likes his grain coming straight across into the face.

I’m not sure it makes a difference in playability…
however…
if you think it does… then it kinda does … doesn’t it? :sunglasses:

This starts getting into the realm of tasting fine wines…

6.jpg