David Games Interview

Yesterday I met up with my childhood idol David Games for a bit of golf and life talk. It’s hard to describe how good a junior player David was but I will give just a bit of background. When he was 16, he never finished worse than second in a golf tournament. Second place was a big disappointment such as being runner up in The Junior World Championships to Corey Pavin and runner up in the USGA Junior when Willie Wood won. But David drummed Bobby Clampett in the California State Junior Championship, won the California High School CIF Championship, The LA City Junior and a slew of other annual junior events throughout the state playing weekly against players like Tom Pernice, Corey, Steve Pate, Jeff Hart etc.

One of the most fascinating things about David was that he was completely self taught. Never had a formal golf lesson.
Another interesting thing is that he won all these tournaments without using a driver! David played a 2 wood off the tee.

I thought we would do something unique here, and while I will ask questions and interview David here… we will also open up this interview for all ABSers’ to ask David questions about golf as we go along. Let’s see what we can learn from this opportunity to speak to David Games.

Welcome David, and great to have you here…

First off… why the 2 wood off the tee? Tell us about the club, how you found it… set it up… and why you preferred using it over a driver to win all those tournaments?

Second, we talked a bit about confidence yesterday. How did you become such a confident player, and what was your thought process like back then when you were on top of your game for instance in your junior years? So few golfers at any level ever get to experience to play in a state of dominance at any level.

Well thanks Johnny Lag- I’m flattered. Great to be here…great to be anywhere :slight_smile:.