The Hoganfade?

About 10 years ago I went for a club fitting with my Pro. He was doing a fitting for this really tall guy who must have been over 6ft 6, i am 5ft 6".

The tall guy left and the Pro told me to warm up with the clubs that he had been using, but said

“don’t worry, all you will be able to do with these clubs is hit a draw”

I considered myself to be a bit of a shotmaker back then and said that i would be able to hit him a fade. And he bet me a fiver that i wouldn’t and went off to get some clubs for me.

I hit the first ball, sliding through it with my legs, holding the face of the club open and the ball started fading out to the right as i expected, then it turned back to the left. I couldn’t believe my eyes, i had been playing golf for 15 years and never seen anything like it before. So i did it again with a bigger slide the ball went slicing out to the right then just swung back to the left again. I looked at the club, it looked normal to me, what the hell was going on?? Again and again i hit ball after ball that swung right the turned back to the left.

When the Pro got back he explained what was going on. That the club was really upright and how the lie angle of the club affected the spin axis of the ball and how that in turn affected the flight of the ball. This was all new to me, he told me to go away and buy a Frisbee and experiment with it to understand how spin axis effects fight, and that was it, i was hooked on how important golf club set up is.

Fast forward 10 years and i was at the range the other night hitting balls with a 7 iron bent 7 degrees flat and i swear that the opposite was happening, i was hitting balls that were starting to draw, only for them to fall to the right. I don’t think it was anything to do with the wind cause for a change here there was none.

Is this Hoganfade? I heard that he had his clubs 7 degrees flat.

NRG

Hi NRG,