Hello and Thanks

I’ve been visiting this site off and on for the last year and finally decided to register as I felt compelled to offer my sincere appreciation to Lag, Two, and all of the members here for the wealth of information and ideas I’ve found, employed, and enjoyed.

I found this place while searching for information on my first vintage golf purchase last summer, a set of Hogan Medallion irons and Hogan persimmon woods. When I came upon Lag’s club specs I must admit, I thought he was mad as a hatter! Now, after applying a lot of his specs and ideas, and reading through the treasure trove of Top Threads, I realize he is more like a mad GENIUS. And it occurs to me that this site will be an incredible resource for many years to come for golfers trying to get back to the true fundamentals of the game.

I started playing golf as an adolescent in the early 80’s with a hand-me-down starter set of Northwesterns and a one week golf camp. I was not very good, at golf or other sports, but I loved to play. By the early 2000’s I had made myself into a high single digit handicapper, with a low round of 73 (in the club championship, no less… unfortunately, it was a 2 day tournament :frowning: ).

It was about that time that I started hearing the siren song of golf equipment technology: long, light, upright, and forgiving. Not coincidentally, I can also trace my decline to that same time period.

I didn’t play much over the next decade for various reasons, but by the summer of 2012 I was struggling to break 90. This was especially frustrating for me because after going through some major health problems in 2011 & early 2012 one of the things that really sustained me was the prospect of getting back into the game of golf that I had once been so passionate about. But I found that I could not hit a fairway to save my life, nor make clean contact with any iron. I actually bought an entire set of hybrid irons in order to combat a bad case of The Fats.