Can someone test out the accuracy of this calculator please

leaderboard.com/SWINGWT.HTM

If accurate I will use it on all of my classic sets.

Ant, I don’t think that it can be very accurate. As it says, you really need to weigh separately the club-head, shaft and grip. Also it seems to me that the club length is important, which is not used in this calculation. It does say it’s not very reliable, but that it could be used for comparing swing weights of clubs in the same set. Not sure even if that is true.

I’m a novice on swing weights mind, so I could be completely missing the point!

I do think it is accurate. However, the outcome is highly dependant on the exactness of the measurements your making. You need to measure the total weight of the club (not the individual parts, however you can calculate it that way) and the distance from the back of the club to the balance point. Those are the only facts that are important in measuring the swingweight. But like i said, be sure youre measuring correctly. 1 gram more or less or 1 mm more or less can allready make a difference.

I haven’t tried this calculator but I’m sure it would be based on the same formula I use, and 84425 is spot on regarding the exactness of the measurements. 1mm will make a difference, soI balance the club on the edge of a razor blade for precision. The clubs I measured and tested against a swingweight machine were mostly within 1 swingweight point, the occasional club 2 swingweight points. That’s accurate enough.

you can solve the problem right here…

shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trksid … Categories

I stand corrected then… :blush: :smiley:
I’ve used this on the one iron I’m using, and it came out as C6 … hmmm. I think I need heavier clubs - it tells me on that website that this is typical for women’s clubs. :confused: