ABS for Green Golf

ABS For Green Golf

ABS For Green Golf

New postby macs » Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:31 am
I am no expert on envoironmental implications of maintaining modern golf courses but there certainly is buzz in the media about it. I believe that ABS is very compatible with hard pan fairways. For anyone of us who knows more about this, lets get this rolling and hop on the Green Wagon(not cart). :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

New postby Styles » Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:27 pm
I’ve been thinking about this for a while given the talk here about the Halcyon days of yore and have a simple solution, partly inspired by what happened during the bad weather at last week’s matchplay.

Instead of ‘following the sun’, the pros should follow the poor weather.

That would mean that courses could be played when they are naturally green instead of having to be heavily watered. The wind and rain would bring shot making and precision back to the fore as well.

Instead of ploughing money into a persimmon tour this seems like a much easier idea to implement!

The fairways at St. Andrews are never fertilized. The turf is very firm and that changes the game a lot. Firm turf = Proper links golf.

I have visited a couple of links golf wannabees here in Texas. The courses are OK, and there may be some visual similarities with the scottish links, but with soft fairways it is still a drop & stop game.

I read the new president of the USGA wants golf courses to go green i.e. not water like crazy, fertilizing, etc.

I hope it catches on here, the most enjoyable golf I have played have been on the links courses in Scotland, Wales and England. I haven’t made it to Ireland yet.

I really enjoy more and more natural golf. I don’t even mind less than perfect greens. If you hit it close to the hole enough, you’ll make your share.

Playing off a variety of different lies should be part of the game… part of it’s charm and beauty.