Phoenix's struggling golf economy

Here’s an interesting article from Arizona State University’s business school about the decline of the golf industry in the greater Phoenix area:

knowledge.wpcarey.asu.edu/articl … 3&aid=1476

Part of the tradition and beauty of this game is to learn to play the full spectrum of reasonable conditions. It makes better players and diversifies the experience considerable. Golf is currently existing in an age of entitlement. I suppose things will change over time due more to necessity rather than choice.

There will always be golfers, just less of them. More quality players and the majority of great courses will buck the trend of a convenience minded generation.

I agree. The course I play is what I call a “blue collar” course. It’s not fancy, but it’s generally in fair shape for the price you pay, and I really enjoy it. I’ve had some incredible golf experiences there. I invited a young golfer from church to join me for a game. His family are members at a very nice, well kept, and expensive course. He was complaining by the second hole, and continued for the rest of the round. The comment that has stuck with me the most is, “This course is going to ruin my game.” It’s sad, but it’s probably too late for him to experience what is the true essence of golf.

You actually have to be a better player to shoot a good score on a poorly groomed course. I used to love it when the tour would stop on a course in bad condition. I knew half the field was already eliminated. Bad greens are great too because it becomes much less of a putting contest. The great putters are not going to be able to run the table. Yes, they will still make more putts, but not nearly as many. Things get tipped in favor of the better ball strikers on poor greens.

There is also a technique to putting on slower bumpy greens… and a lot of good players don’t really know how to do it.