Lee Trevino

trevino4.jpg

Love the Trevino move…

Me too. I started studying Trevino on Homer Kelley’s recommendation. Trevino helped me understand 1F a lot better. Lag, is “cutting left” still tracing the plane line? I find that in order to stay on plane it feels left big time. What do you think of Trevino’s turned left hand as a “post-it” reminder to preserve as much right elbow bend to slow the rate of the #3Acc roll? Do you think Duval employed the same device? I have avoided a turned left hand like the plague for a long time, but it does provide an interesting benefit.

before we get into a long TGM debate about swing planes… tracing them with flashlights and so forth…

How did you get to Trevino from Homer? and what is your involvement with TGM? Who have you worked with? and you a TGM AI and so forth …

Let me know your thoughts on 1F and how you relate that to Trevino…

thanks…

You wrote-: “What do you think of Trevino’s turned left hand as a “post-it” reminder to preserve as much right elbow bend to slow the rate of the #3Acc roll?”

On what basis do you believe that maintaining a bent right elbow through impact affects the degree of PA#3 roll?

I believe that PA#3 roll occurs pre-impact and that the amount of PA#3-roll depends on the degree of accumulator #3 angle that a golfer has at address/impact. The shallower the clubshaft at impact (and the greater the angle between the straight left arm and the clubshaft), the greater the amount of PA#3 roll into impact - irrespective of whether the right elbow is significantly bent at impact (or not). PA#3 roll ends when the flat left wrist is vertical at impact.

Regarding post-impact roll (which is not, by definition, a part of PA#3 roll) - it depends on whether a golfer uses horizontal hinging or angled hinging. Lee Trevino was a hitter, and he used angled hinging.

Jeff.

Lag,