Golf Swing Construction 101; The Bertholy Method Revisited

I would like to take just a few minutes and review Doug Ferreri’s book, “Golf Swing Construction 101; The Bertholy Method Revisited”. It has single-handily resurrected my golf game.

I’ve been playing golf for over forty years. I started when I was a caddy back in the early seventies. I did not have any formal lessons, and learned mostly by reading instruction books, watching other golfers and professionals swing, and beating lots and lots of golf balls. I played and practiced every day for many years, and got to where I played pretty good. My handicap during those years was always around scratch, never higher than a three. But, golf wasn’t any fun. I was driven to be perfect, and made the game too much like work. Besides that, all the different swing theories that were out there did nothing but confuse me. My playing golf every day came to an end with the first Gulf War. When I came back home my golf game pretty much picked up where it had left off, but a couple years later I was assigned to recruiting duty, and was lucky to have the time to play once or twice a week. Golf since then for me has been more recreational than anything else. I will say that I’ve enjoyed it a lot more, but mainly because of the social aspects of the game. My scoring was naturally much higher. I could play in the mid-to-high seventies to the mid-eighties without too much effort, but no more scratch golf for me. That ship had set sail. Then, late last fall even my recreational game tanked, and I floundered. I’m not really sure what caused it, but nothing I hit was solid. I hit a lot of shots fat, and lost just about all confidence. So, I hit the internet looking for answers.